Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner

rode the s1000rr

3K views 24 replies 16 participants last post by  Desarro 
#1 ·
rode my buddies s1000rr.. really ruined the way i look at my cbr 1000rr now :( thing is an animal. Will see what happens with the 1000rr for 2016 or else i might be switching over... anyone else feel this way?

#2 ·
The way I look at it is Yes the bmw is a monster of a bike But regular maintenance is expensive. When me and my girl bought our charger we were looking at a Audi. The maintenance alone on the Audi was the reason we went with dodge. So unless you make hella money just take a ponder that. But they are basass bike. I would at least wait until the new cbr and gsxr and zx10 comes out. In the next 2 years all bikes will be 200 hp beast.

#3 ·
I'm new to Honda (and these forums), but coming from 20+ years of riding BMW's I went full stop the other way from where your head is and am picking up a CBR1000RR tomorrow. While It's true the BMW is an expensive bike to maintain for sure, the regular maintenance is 2X the Honda on a good day, at these price points I can't see that being the focal point of the decision.

Both have well deserved reputations for running for ages and the resell value is in line. Personally I don't think you could go wrong with either bike at this point. I'm not racing for a living, just riding what I enjoy (or getting from point A to point B sometimes).

else i might be switching over... anyone else feel this way?
As a long time BMW rider moving the other direction, I can tell you that not everybody feels this way ;)

#5 ·
What is your intentions. As mentioned do your maintenance yourself. Are they comparable bikes not even in the same realm. Cmon don't be little the bmw lol.

#6 ·