520 pitch chain conversion on 06 CBR1000RR with pictures and tq specs : Honda CBR 1000RR Motorcycle Forums: 1000RR.net

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2012, 02:53 AM   #1

520 pitch chain conversion on 06 CBR1000RR with pictures and tq specs

Ive decided to post up my 520 chain conversion because while i was doing mine i found a lot of misinformation or just plain wrong information when i searched the boards.
First off let me start by saying i am not a motorcycle mechanic but i am fairly handy with a wrench. I do have a fair amount of experience working on high performance cars but motorcycles are still new to me. With that being said i feel most people are capable of doing this conversion themselves if they just take their time and pay attention to what they are doing. Hopefully this write up will help anyone who plans to take on the task themselves.
This is the 520 chain kit i used: http://www.superbikesupply.com/mm5/m...nversion-honda
-1 front & +2 rear (15f/44r)

Tools needed:
8mm, 10mm, 14mm, 32mm sockets and ratchet
12mm wrench (x2)
torque wrench
chain rivet tool
Dremel or grinder

Torque specs (per service manual):
front drive sprocket 40 ft lbs
rear driven sprocket nuts 47 ft lbs
rear axle nut 83 ft lbs

1. I started by placing the bike on a rear stand and removing the clutch slave cylinder on the chain cover.
2. Next i loosened the two bolts that hold the water pump on (note the two bolts removed on water pump in picture below) and carefully pulled it straight back to give room for the chain cover to be removed. Some people claim this is not necessary but i found it to be a must.

3. After removing the chain cover (i also pulled the slave cylinder pushrod out) with the bike on the stand i very carefully pushed the rear brake lever down by hiking a leg over and loosened the front drive sprocket with a breaker bar leaving the bolt finger tight.