Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering if it is a direct bolt on? Also does anyone know if you have to change the cluster wiring harness and ecu, or can you use everything from 2008
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
129 Posts
Wondering if it is a direct bolt on? Also does anyone know if you have to change the cluster wiring harness and ecu, or can you use everything from 2008

Everything I've seen shows the motor should bolt right up. You will need the harness, ecu, and cluster I believe. Think I saw another post saying the wiring for the newer cluster is a little different.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
129 Posts
so you want to say i can put 08 alternator cover on 13 mine?
No you can't! We went over this in your other thread. If you feel like wasting your time and money go ahead and buy the 08 cover. You'll discover that it won't fit

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
129 Posts
so hard to get 12 left side parts. i hope headlights same with 08 or different?
You're better off buying everything new. Headlights are different too. All the body panels are different except for maybe the front fender.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
91 Posts
yes i know. Thanxs if that was R1 like i always had so i had not a single issue but now learning ) cbr was my dream bike)

any idea how much good price on headlights used?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Can some confirm if it fits? I found one local and want to do the swap

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Can some confirm if it fits? I found one local and want to do the swap

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I just put a 2012 motor into my 08. Same motor as the 2013 everything bolted up fine. I was able to use everything from my 08 only thing is the neutral position switch/ sensor was different so I have it doesn't tell me I'm in neutral. I have to put the kickstand up and have the clutch pulled in to start my bike now. I also switched out the speed sensor
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
I just put a 2012 motor into my 08. Same motor as the 2013 everything bolted up fine. I was able to use everything from my 08 only thing is the neutral position switch/ sensor was different so I have it doesn't tell me I'm in neutral. I have to put the kickstand up and have the clutch pulled in to start my bike now.
How easy is it to swap out the fairing too?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Looking to do the same project. 2008 bike with a bad motor and I have a 2012 motor and harness to swap in. Does everything get carry over from the 08? Specifically ecu. I believe the 12 harness is different for the cluster and front harness. So I might need a new harness and 12 cluster. Just trying to get everything sorted before I dig in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Looking to do the same project. 2008 bike with a bad motor and I have a 2012 motor and harness to swap in. Does everything get carry over from the 08? Specifically ecu. I believe the 12 harness is different for the cluster and front harness. So I might need a new harness and 12 cluster. Just trying to get everything sorted before I dig in.
I used my 08 ecu and wiring harness. Only thing that doesn't work is my neutral position switch; they changed to a different one in 2012. I'm not 100% sure but I may be able to fix that by changing to the 2012 sub harness.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Didnyou ever try the sub harness? I have a 2015 motor on its way and will be doing the swap

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top