Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Classifieds Moderator
638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This thread is a work in progress and will document step-by-step my 1091cc motor build. The service manual provides excellent guidance on removing and disassembling the engine, but there are certain omissions and tips that I will share so that others can better tackle some difficult steps. I will also share any mistakes and blunders I make along the way so that others can avoid them.

DISCLAIMER: I am NOT a professional mechanic or engine builder. I'm a physics teacher who enjoys working on bikes in my spare time. Given the amount of special tools required, it would be SIGNIFICANTLY cheaper to take your engine to a professional engine builder if you only care about the end result of having a 215+ rwhp engine.

Current plan for this build is as follows:
Millenium Tech. M-spec CNC head port w/ valve job​
Millenium Tech. +2mm overbore w/ Nikasil replating​
APE +2mm stroker w/ race balance and removal of balance gear​
APE Ti valve retainer/springs​
APE adjustable camshaft gears​
78mm JE 13.5 comp. pistons​
HRC transmission​
HRC camshafts​
HRC thermostat​
Carrillo H-beam rods (104.5mm)​
+1mm cylinder base shim plate​
EVR slipper clutch w/ APE Trac King plates​

Tentative sections
basic tear down to send off cylinder head, crankshaft, and cylinder block - complete​
crankshaft bearing selection - pending​
rod bearing selection - pending​
cylinder block installation - pending​
JE piston installation - pending​
Carrillo rod bolt "stretching" - pending​
bearing clearance verification - pending​
crankcase reassembly - pending​
compression ratio calculation - complete​
cylinder head reassembly - pending​
setting valve clearances - pending​
degreeing camshafts with adjustable gears (MANDATORY, IN/EX marks will be slightly off with this setup) - pending​
clutch upgrade - pending​
engine installation - pending​