Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm a 1000RR Newbie and could really use your help.

I was caught in a Heavy downpour last night and my Bike actually started jerking, with pulsing clock and headlights, 2kms from home.

This morning, I tried starting it and nothing but a hissing noise. Clock back light lights up, but no readings on it. When I engaged the ignition button, the clock dies. Even the 'Neutral' light didn't go on.

Please help, I don't wanna scratch around a and mess it up further and I don't need mechs trying to rip me off again.

Thanks in advance,

Bradley

·
Hook 'em!
2,560 Posts
Hi everyone, I'm a 1000RR Newbie and could really use your help.

I was caught in a Heavy downpour last night and my Bike actually started jerking, with pulsing clock and headlights, 2kms from home.

This morning, I tried starting it and nothing but a hissing noise. Clock back light lights up, but no readings on it. When I engaged the ignition button, the clock dies. Even the 'Neutral' light didn't go on.

Please help, I don't wanna scratch around a and mess it up further and I don't need mechs trying to rip me off again.

Thanks in advance,

Bradley
Sounds like an electrical issue.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Go figure, it's my Stator.

And here is a perfect example of 'Fly-by-night' Mechs and why I don't easily trust Mechs in this country. I made a video and sent it to three different mechs, since I tried everything I found in other posts regarding wet wether consequances. The one guy actually quoted me to repair my cluster. One spoke about my rectifier / ecu damaged due to the rain. Which I actually believed as my 636 also has his at the kickstand, and I figured it got wet cos of all the rain on the road.

A reputable Bike shop wanted me to take my bike in for an initial inspection, at R 2000 for labour.