Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone found any new information regarding the inability to change tire size, or sprocket sizes? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

I purchased another CBR last year and have always been a Honda guy. I bought my first new set of tires and was super stoked to change to a Q3 and go from a 190/50-17 to a 190/55-17. But unfortunately come to find out there is no menu option to change the tire size, front or, rear sprockets. Super disappointing!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
302 Posts
Following. I’m considering doing a -1 front sprocket. Did some pulls today against a 2015 R1 and my 2017 1000rr did really well considering the R1 had a -1 front sprocket. Mines still the standard factory.

Is it even worth changing to a -1 front (if it’s even possible)?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
267 Posts
I too have ran 190-55 on previous blade until now & disappointed to say the least. I’ve “heard” some have changed to 55 series without issue but can not confirm that to be true.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Has anyone found any new information regarding the inability to change tire size, or sprocket sizes? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

I purchased another CBR last year and have always been a Honda guy. I bought my first new set of tires and was super stoked to change to a Q3 and go from a 190/50-17 to a 190/55-17. But unfortunately come to find out there is no menu option to change the tire size, front or, rear sprockets. Super disappointing!
Official Honda answer is "Screw you jerk, you are an idiot for believing our marketing crap and spending your money on buying the bike and then NOT running the tire and sprocket size WE say is best!"

See this thread I started after Honda told me to go ***k myself when I asked them the very same question.

Honda admit 2017+ CBR1000RR is fundamentally flawed

And yes I am bitter about their answer. :)

Following. I’m considering doing a -1 front sprocket. Did some pulls today against a 2015 R1 and my 2017 1000rr did really well considering the R1 had a -1 front sprocket. Mines still the standard factory.

Is it even worth changing to a -1 front (if it’s even possible)?

Unfortunately I think you're going to run into the same problem. As there is no menu option to adjust the tire or sprocket sizes on the 17' 1KRR base or ABS models. Changing your tire or sprocket will throw off the ECU and the bikes electronics will not work properly and could cause serious problems. Possibly a crash.
Has anyone found any new information regarding the inability to change tire size, or sprocket sizes? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

I purchased another CBR last year and have always been a Honda guy. I bought my first new set of tires and was super stoked to change to a Q3 and go from a 190/50-17 to a 190/55-17. But unfortunately come to find out there is no menu option to change the tire size, front or, rear sprockets. Super disappointing!
Official Honda answer is "Screw you jerk, you are an idiot for believing our marketing crap and spending your money on buying the bike and then NOT running the tire and sprocket size WE say is best!"

See this thread I started after Honda told me to go ***k myself when I asked them the very same question.

Honda admit 2017+ CBR1000RR is fundamentally flawed

And yes I am bitter about their answer. <img src="Drag Racing" border="0" alt="" title="Smile" class="inlineimg" />[/QUOTE]


Lame! There's got to be some way the menu options can be opened up in the programming. I'm sure someone will figure something out. I hope! I've got 20k into this bike now and am a pretty disappointed I can't run a 190/55. The 50 blows!

Unfortunately I think you're going to run into the same problem. As there is no menu option to adjust the tire or sprocket sizes on the 17' 1KRR base or ABS models. Changing your tire or sprocket will throw off the ECU and the bikes electronics will not work properly and could cause serious problems. Possibly a crash.
Just to clarify, the Sport Kit Menu is not present in the SP or SP2 dash either.



Lame! There's got to be some way the menu options can be opened up in the programming. I'm sure someone will figure something out. I hope! I've got 20k into this bike now and am a pretty disappointed I can't run a 190/55. The 50 blows!
I have been hounding Woolich since the day I sent them the image of my SP2 ECU the day I took delivery. I also provided them an image of my SP2 HRC ECU with the Sport Kit exposed.

The idea was for them to use the HRC ECU as a means to try determine where the stock SP2 ECU might have the answer buried. To date they have not made progress on this request.

A tuning shop in Japan did mange to get the to expose some of the SPort Kit menu in an SP ECU, but after Honda pointed a finger at him he backed off and has refused to even patch an ECU I offered to send to him.

The menu is actually a stub in the Dash display code, it points to tables that would be in the ECU.

If you want the Sport Kit Menu exposed, you could send your ECU to Ten Kate and for about $800 they will flash it to HRC specs - of course you lose the use of your fan, side stand switch, headlights, turn signals and brake light - but there are any manner of ways to rewire and control those components. And not starting with an SP or SP2 you don't have to worry about losing the Ohlins electronic suspension support.

:)

Hey everyone
So by continues reading here in the forum I still haven't found the answer. Will be the 190/55 tire causing issues or not ? And what slick tire I can use on the 2018 CBR1KRR ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
I have the answer and solution now.

It is now possible to hard calibrate the ECU for specific tire and sprocket size changes.
Hi RC54
I read you posts here and in UK forums...I'm impressed by your knowledge
And how much it will cost to do it ?
Each time I need to re-flash the ECU?
I'm really disappointed by honda engineers...why do you need to over complicate "simple" things?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Super confused why people having this issue. Our owner had a 18 std bike (non abs) and ran Pirelli 125/70 and 200/65 slicks as well as -1 front +2 rear and he didn't have issues or CEL ever. We have posted many of his on board videos.(on our IG page edrperformance) and based on how much he loved it we had 2 other clients pick up SP1 and a STD 17 bike. Our owner now has a 17 SP2 that he is going crazy on build wise and again ran it last fall at Thill with 120/70 Q4 and 190/55 Q4 as well as -1 front +1 rear and didn't have any issues, cel or such? Must be random one? We have 2 other clients with 17-20 blades with gearing changes and track day tires not had any issues. Is this only on random bikes? Il have to ask Eric (owner)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
176 Posts
Super confused why people having this issue. Our owner had a 18 std bike (non abs) and ran Pirelli 125/70 and 200/65 slicks as well as -1 front +2 rear and he didn't have issues or CEL ever. We have posted many of his on board videos.(on our IG page edrperformance) and based on how much he loved it we had 2 other clients pick up SP1 and a STD 17 bike. Our owner now has a 17 SP2 that he is going crazy on build wise and again ran it last fall at Thill with 120/70 Q4 and 190/55 Q4 as well as -1 front +1 rear and didn't have any issues, cel or such? Must be random one? We have 2 other clients with 17-20 blades with gearing changes and track day tires not had any issues. Is this only on random bikes? Il have to ask Eric (owner)
Its not about throwing a CEL. It's about the TC kicking in. I have a 2017. I changed the rear to a 45 tooth (190/55 tyre) and in a straight line with TC on 1 it would kick in around 9000rpm and limit the output (its like hitting a rev limiter) . The bike calculating that its lifted the front wheel when it hasn't. Obviously the intention with taking the rear up is to gain acceleration but overall I was slower due to the TC limiting power output from 9k to redline. If you run without TC on obvious there is no issue.
I have found the best I can do without turning TC off is standard front (16t) and +1 rear (44t) with a Dunlop D212 (190/55).
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top