Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know I am new to CBR1000RR's but having a problem I can not figure out. Changed oil and installed a new Honda filter, red light comes on when started, replaced oil pressure sending unit, still comes on. Dropped the pan, cleaned strainer, fresh oils and still stays on. I unplugged the sending unit and still stays on. Checked battery connections, still stays on. Checked wiring still stays on. When the sending unit isn't hooked up, shouldn't the light go off ? Man I am lost ? Any help would be great. Mine is an o6 with 21,000 miles.

·
Registered
285 Posts
have you tried another filter in case the built in pressure relief valve is fault.

To get a clearer picture, you can put a gauge and measure the oil pressure. I had it done by my mechanic at the last service.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Three different filters, three oil changes ? Two new sending units. I am going to get a oil pressure gauge today.

·
Registered
285 Posts
must have cost a small fortune.

can't help you on the light status with the switch disconnected. hopefully another member with this experience can chime in

·
Registered
100 Posts
Hope this is right place to post this.
2005 1000rr, 29000mi, stock.
Tried to ride to work today, all normal. About 3 miles in I lost power and oil light came on. Pulled over and she shut off. Let it sit for 5 min, started up and started heading home. 30 seconds later, same thing. Started losing power, oil light came on, then it shut off. Pushed it the rest of the way home. I’ll check out oil level, and change it. I don’t want to start it again till I check for oil leaks. I’ll drain what I can, change filter and add about 3qts. And start it up, let heat up, check the oil level and see if it happens again.
Any suggestions? Thanks again

Show Full Signature

·
Registered
1,159 Posts