Honda CBR 1000RR Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
2005 CBR1000rr
1,097 Posts
That's a tough question. I'll start by saying I have a 2005 in perfect condition, but with 36,000 miles on it. I wouldn't trade it for the world right now. That being said, a year ago an average SC57 was probably worth about $5,000. I have seen them listed for $7,000 to $8,000 recently. Your location can affect the price some. The bike looks good and the mileage is great. If you thoroughly check it out and it runs and shifts good it will be a great bike. You should still try to bargain on the price. Bottom line, I don't think you can buy a better litre bike for $7,000.
Tire Wheel Fuel tank Sky Vehicle

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you very much for the quick reply! Glad to hear I can go in and hopefully not leave with buyers remorse. I simply can't justify 20k on something brand new. With its timeless design and minimal electronics I think I'll be a happy. I'm a mechanic / body guy by trade I'll be going over it thoroughly. But you being a long term owner anything in particular I should be sure to inspect? Known issues ect ect?

· Registered
2005 CBR1000rr
1,097 Posts
With your experience and mechanical knowledge there won't be anything on that bike that you can't handle. Maybe I just got lucky, but I bought mine with about 6,000 miles on it too, but in 2009, I've had no major mechanical problems. I did rebuild the front forks early on. I've changed out all the fairings several times, I like different graphic looks from time to time. If you go through all the fluids and do regular maintenance, you should be very happy with it. Also, I really like the minimal electronics of that era. I like to just get on and ride. I like to think my computer aids are my brain, hands and feet. You will be amazed at the performance level of the SC57 generation bikes. Some of the best looking too.

· Registered
196 Posts